The Order of the Pineapple is also called the DisOrder of the Pineapple and
the Pineapple DisOrder, but it's  usually abbreviated O.P.  (The award has also
been called Patus Pineappleus Bromeliadic and the winners The P. P.
Bromeliadics or Bromedliaddicts).  It honors those who have given extraordinary
service to “the participatorial  study of comedic attitudes and eccentric
tendencies.”  Many of the early winners were members of one of the chapters of
the Ek-sen-triks  CluborGuild (ECG), the Discordian Division of the Ek-sen-triks
CluborGuild (D & D of the ECG), Colonial  Williamsburg, or Discordians, but that is
not strictly required.  The O.P. is awarded to very few people, those who are
especially servicey.  It's presented on only one day a year, January 18 CE, which
is  18 Chaos of the Discordian calendar.  That date is recognized as
Pineapple Day
.  Pat is the Mascot of the ECG  and Patron Saint of the D & D of
the ECG.

Kerry Thornley was admitted to this exclusive group in 1994 (only one or two
members are admitted each year, and include Malaclypse the Younger, Alan
Moore, Sondra London, R. Crumb, Dr. Demento, Timothy Leary, Robert Anton
Wilson, Robert Shea, and others).  Jan. 18 is Robert Anton Wilson's birthday.

Below is a scan of the original certificate accepted by Kerry Thornley.
Click on the image to see a larger version